Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Asian American/Pacific Islander, Latin American and Native American Caucuses

July 6 @ 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

On July 6, 2021 individuals that identity as Asian American/Pacific Islander, Latin American or Native American will meet initially together and then as individual caucuses.  The 3 caucuses will meet to elect 2 co-chairs of different genders who will lead their caucus and also be members of the Affirmative Action Committee.

Please share this information and registration link with others that may be interested.

The caucus may, at that time, also elect a Secretary to record minutes and assist with administration of the caucus, and a Parliamentarian who assures compliance with the relevant rules and bylaws.

Election of Co-Chairs and officers will be done by voice vote. A majority (50% +1) of those present and voting will determine the outcome.

Kim Felix (Latin) and Aryanna Islam (AAPI), WVDP Committee members, will be temporary chairs of those caucuses.  A temporary chair for the Native American caucus is TBD.

There needs to be at least 2 people to form a caucus. Voting members must be registered as a Democrat.

The purpose of a diversity caucus is to do planning and outreach specific to that diversity to do voter outreach, encourage running for Party office and elected office.

Persons responsible for this meeting are Affirmative Action Committee Co-Chairs, Mary Thorp and Hollis Lewis, pursuant to the WVDP Bylaws and the Resolution adopted by the AA Committee on June 2, 2021 (read below)

This meeting is open to the public.

Registration information:
You are invited to a Zoom meeting.
When: Jul 6, 2021 06:30 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Register in advance for this meeting:

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Resolution to convene the following diversity caucuses to elect their co-chairs: Asian Americans/Pacific Islanders, Latino/Latinx Americans and Native Americans.

Whereas, 6 of the diversity caucuses designated in article VIII of the Bylaws of the West Virginia Democratic Executive Committee (“Executive Committee”) have met and elected 2 co-chairs each who are also members of the Affirmative Action Committee of the Executive Committee; and

Whereas, 3 other diversity caucuses have not yet been convened to elect their co-chairs, namely: Asian American/Pacific Islanders, Latino/Latinx Americans, and Native Americans; and

Whereas, the representation of those diversity groups on the AA committee is extremely important so that their issues and concerns may be discussed and made known to other elements of the WV Democratic Party, the Democratic National Committee, the state legislature, their WV congressional representatives, other Democratic leaders, and to local, state and national Democratic conventions; and so they may become actively involved in the affairs of the WV Democratic Party at all levels, including the Affirmative Action Committee and the State Democratic Executive Committee; and

Whereas, the lack of their representation on the AA Committee and in all Party affairs is in violation of the WV Bylaws, the national Party Charter, and DNC Bylaws; and constitutes unwarranted and illegal discrimination;

Now, therefore, be it resolved:

1. That each of these caucuses shall be convened prior to July 7, 2021 primarily for the purpose of electing their co-chairs and adopting caucus Bylaws. The members of the AA Committee, particularly the Co-Chairs thereof, shall promptly identify and work with potential members of each of said caucuses prior to the meeting of their individual caucus, to help organize and facilitate each meeting.

2. That by the adoption of this resolution, which shall be sent to potential leaders and activists of these 3 diversity groups, to the members of the Executive Committee, other Democrats and the press, as well as being posted on the website of the Executive Committee, notice is hereby given of the convening of the 3 caucuses.

Adopted unanimously by the WV Democratic Party Affirmative Action Committee at their first meeting June 2, 2021
Mary Thorp, Co-Chair, AA Committee
Hollis Lewis, Co-Chair, AA Committee

Robert Baker
Mary Ann Claytor
Kelly Elkins
Aryanna Islam
Councilwoman Rosemary Ketchum
Marlene Midget
Marilyn Monahan
Jarryd Powell
Delegate Cody Thompson
Rusty Williams


July 6
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm


Mary Thorp
Hollis Lewis
Aryanna Islam
Kim Felix